Kerryon Johnson named AP's SEC Offensive Player of the Year
After leading Auburn to the SEC Western Division championship, Kerryon Johnson is the AP's SEC offensive player of the year. Photo: Wade Rackley/Auburn Athletics
Dec. 4, 2017

By Jeff Shearer

AUBURN, Ala. - Auburn running back Kerryon Johnson earned Associated Press SEC offensive player of the year honors Monday and quarterback Jarrett Stidham shared the award for SEC newcomer of the year.

Johnson averaged 120 rushing yards per game, gaining 1,320 yards and 17 touchdowns. He added 23 receptions for 188 yards and two touchdowns and also threw a TD pass, helping No. 7 Auburn win the SEC Western Division.

Stidham completed 66.7 percent of his passes, throwing for 2,827 yards and 17 touchdowns with only four interceptions. He also had four rushing touchdowns.

Johnson, guard Braden Smith, kicker Daniel Carlson and defensive end Jeff Holland made AP’s All-SEC first team.

Stidham and defensive back Carlton Davis made AP’s All-SEC second team. Georgia quarterback Jake Fromm shared newcomer of the year honors with Stidham.

Auburn (10-3) plays UCF on Jan. 1 at 11:30 a.m. CT in the Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl’s 50th Anniversary Game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta.

Jeff Shearer is a Senior Writer at Follow him on Twitter:



Shop Now at
the Official Store
Official Auctions